Local Athletes Earn Team Gushue Award and Premier’s Athletic Awards

Congratulations to all recipients of the Team Gushue Award and the Premier’s Athletic Awards!

Over 125 of the province’s top athletes were recognized on November 14th, 2022 by the Honourable Andrew Furey, Premier of Newfoundland and Labrador, at the 18th annual Premier’s Athletic Awards in St. John’s.

The awards program recognizes athletic excellence and provides financial support to help offset the costs of training and competition. Grants ranging from $500 to $1,500 are awarded based on the level of competition and the athletes’ respective accomplishments.

Liam Drover-Mattinen of Portugal Cove-St. Philip’s was one of two recipients of the Team Gushue Award, for their performance in Tennis. These awards are in honour of Team Gushue’s Gold medal win at the 2006 Winter Olympics. Each award is valued at $5,000, and is presented annually to two athletes who excel in athletics and academics.

Special shout out to PCSP resident recipients:

  • Grace Noseworthy (Karate)
  • Teghan Byrne (Rowing)
  • Kaitlyn Hall (Rowing)
  • Aiden Drover-Mattinen (Tennis)
  • Liam Drover-Mattinen (Tennis)

A full list of all winners can be found here: